Christmas brownies

by aajohannas

It would seem I have lapsed in my blogging. But, this time I’m making up for it with a recipe for Christmas brownies. My first semester of grad school is over (at least until the grades are released) and I decided it called for brownies. Then I had some more realisations: it is almost Christmas, and the best part of Christmas is peppermint mochas. So I decided to modify my tried and true briwnie recipe into peppermint mocha brownies. I also decided that these brownies needed a little extra in the form of spiced rum. As always with brownies, you need to use a good quality chocolate that you enjoy eating on its own, as this is what your brownies will taste like. I used Ghiradelli’s 70% cocoa chocolate chips for mine, and it turned out delicious.

IMG_20141208_183657

Ingredients for brownie:

  • 4oz dark chocolate
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 2 tsp instant coffee
  • 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 tbsp dark, spiced rum
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup flour

Ingredients for topping:

  • 4oz dark chocolate
  • 2tbsp heavy cream
  • 1 candy cane, crushed

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees Fahrenheit. Melt the chocolate and butter in a pot over low heat. Stir carefully to make sure it doesn’t burn (if you are worried, melt it in a steel bowl over a water bath). Take the pan off the heat and stir in the instant coffee, peppermint extract and rum. Add in the sugar, and then the eggs, mixing carefully after each addition. Finally add in the flour. Pour the batter into a 9×9 inch brownie pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with a few moist crumbs. Closer to 20 minutes will yield a more fudge-like brownie, and closer to 25 will give you a more cake-like one. Let the brownie cool completely before attempting to decorate it.

When it is cooled, melt the dark chocolate (on the stove or in the microwave) and stir in the heavy cream. Spread this over the brownie, sprinkle the crushed candy cane over it and then chill for about an hour. Cut into 9-16 pieces, depending on how big you like your brownies (the correct answer is as big as possible without getting sick from too much sugar). Serve room temperature or cold, possibly with some vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

IMG_20141208_183627

I didn’t realise how much a crushed candy cane sprinkled over the chocolate topping would add to the cake until after I took the pictures: hence the lack of red and white sprinkles there.

IMG_20141208_183619

These are the perfect thing to enjoy on a rainy December evening with a good book. They are dense, chocolatey and with a certain oomph from the rum, coffee and peppermint. I’m currently obsessed with Ken Follett, and if my grad student budget allowed me to I would have bought all of his books as a Christmas present to myself. As it stands I have to ration them a little. But now I’m off to find any brownies my roommate and boyfriend haven’t eaten and finish Winter of the World. Enjoy your brownies!